Chimichangas or : How I learned to stop worrying and eat fried foods

January 9, 2010

My god, what IS that?

OK, you might have to bear with me on this one, I’m new to this whole she-bang and am liable to a few slip ups along the way. Furthermore as first topics go, this is probably somewhat of an odd choice… But your here now, so just roll with it.

First off; no, Chimichanga is not a racial slur, but a mexican food. A mexican food I was reliably lead to believe looked somewhat like the bastard child of a tortilla that has been severely beaten in adolescence. If I’m entirely honest mine doesn’t resemble the finely crafted homage to coronary failure on the right. But we shall get to that in due time.

I don’t quite know what I’m expecting out of this whole blogging business, 3 posts that no one will read followed by a swift and bitter exit from the scene? possibly. I would like to think that I might manage to achieve some semblance of an interesting human being and make a go at this. Hopefully I wouldn’t cynic myself out of existence.

Anyway, back to the mexiculinary delights. I figured this would be a somewhat simple Saturday night meal for myself as none of what is shown in that image (beside the tortilla creature in the centre) is actually necessary. I think to a degree I was somewhat correct, but I had also failed to take into account the requirement for deep frying this sucker. Anyhow, long story short, everything went entirely according to plan up until the point I was tasked with incarcerating them in a chip fat coffin, there was nothing short of mexican witch doctoryness that would have kept these suckers closed as I attempted to cook the little buggers. But as I was all out of Mexico-magic…cocktail sticks had to suffice. I would give these bad boys a 3/5 for the record. They lost 1 point when they started falling apart and another point when I realised I would die young

Om nom nom

I don’t know if its the chilli from the chimichangas leeching it’s way into my brain through every pore or what, but this all seems a little disjointed and random as first posts go, hopefully ill get it down and become less of a raving lunatic and more of a regular human being. The First thing that strikes me about this word press deal is all the bells and whistles I can apply to everything, specifically I find the widgets interesting, as they provide (at least to my mind) somewhat of a catch22. No successful blog exists in a vacuum, without its links and tag-clouds and funny pictures of cats, but at the same time it doesn’t half look stupid and pretentious to have a sidebar full of empty boxes that do almost nothing. So my question to you, the reader, is : At what point is it acceptable to for example…show your own archive or most popular posts? I’m going with the “no time like the present” viewpoint. I shall see how this works out…

3 Responses to “Chimichangas or : How I learned to stop worrying and eat fried foods”

  1. Rosa Says:

    Keep. This. Up.
    Fo’realz.

  2. Will Says:

    It’s been a whole day and a bit. Me needs more blog supplement. :3


Leave a comment