Kick Ass: Or how I learned to stop worrying and review a movie

April 5, 2010

So I was in Manchester this weekend, as you do. And of course the obvious thing to do when visiting a city you have never previously visited save a couple of hours waiting for a coach is to go and experience something Quintessentially Mancunian. So of course I went to a cinema…Ok so maybe it wasn’t the most unique thing to do, but it should be stressed it wasn’t the ONLY thing I spent my time there doing, it’s just the thing I felt like writing about.

Anyway, our film of choice was Kick-Ass. Depending on which country you are reading this from I guess this willeither be really old news, tremendously relevant or horrendously premature. I think two of those have already been used to describe me in the past, so hopefully this time for once I shall be tremendously relevant! And maybe this review will tip your internal weighing scales towards seeing what I found to be a very good movie (i was toying with the idea of saying “will either make you want to see it more…or not! you will have to read on to decide, but then realised that it is possibly the most obnoxious thing ever)

Anyway, so I went into this film with very little in the way of expectation, having not read a single review/preview and only watched the one trailer probably 2-3 months back when I last was in a cinema (or at least last in a cinema that was showing a film of 15 certificate and up thanks to some bizarre viewing choices on my friends parts recently), and found myself pleasantly surprised. The plot is entertaining, I would be lieing if I said I didn’t see a lot of the twists coming before they did, but that is largely irrelevant and it held my interest well for the 2 or so hours (i honestly can’t think how long it was, which i suppose is a good thing as clock watching in a movie is never a good sign). There were more laugh out loud (or at least chuckle of mirth out loud) moments than I can remember, altogether a good film.

I am reminded of why I don’t write reviews by the way. For some reason, possibly because I am an idiot, i am unable to write a review that goes much deeper than “yeah it was pretty cool”. Let it be known that I give this movie my “yeah it was pretty cool” seal of approval. Clearly the person who was sat next to me in the cinema was enjoying it a fair bit aswell, as i happened to glance over the gentleman way during a particularly frenetic action sequence by the films main heroine, only to find his hand suspiciously near his genitalia via what looked like a hole in his jeans, as i noticed this, he noticed I had noticed this and his face was a picture of “oh god! ive been rumbled!” I decided it was best to return my gaze to the film and pretend it never happened.

I cant think of a satisfactory way to end this, so im just going to end…abruptly!

Leave a comment